God cares about our feelings

IMG_0601

Mother Goose Time’s Experience God theme for the month of September is “God cares about our feelings.”  My initial response was, ‘Awww, what a sweet message for our kids!’ I have lovingly repeated this phrase to my children over the past two weeks. Ironically, it took the entire two weeks before I was personally convicted. ‘Do I truly believe God cares about my feelings?’

As I mentioned in my blog post “Adios, August,” August brought a multiple of mini storms that left me feeling overwhelmed, inadequate, and just plain exhausted. I found myself commiserating with friends, venting to my husband, and even looking for answers in a variety of books.  I started a new devotional in July and have continued it faithfully, yet, I failed to bring my troubles (and ugly feelings) to God in prayer.

Let’s face it, my current problems are no different than the next woman’s. It is not life or death, it is lifestyle.  Admittedly, the times I have faced death, I handled it with much more grace, poise, and maturity than last month’s mundane first world problems. Nevertheless, God does care about our feelings–big or small, justified or not and he wants us to bring everything to him. The following verses are only a small representative of the hundreds of verses expressing God’s concern for us which I found uplifting.

1 Peter 5:7: “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

Philippians 4:6: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

Philippians 4:13: “I can do all things through him that strengthens me.”

Ecclesiastes 8:15: “So I command the enjoyment of life, because there is nothing better for a person under the sun than to eat and drink and be glad. Then joy will accompany them in their toil all the days of the life God has given them under the sun.”

Ecclesiastes 11:10: “So then, banish anxiety from your heart and cast off the troubles of your body, for youth and vigor are meaningless.”

Psalm 34:4: “I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from my fears.”

Psalm 42:5: “Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my savior and my God.”

Jeremiah 31:25: “I will refresh the weary and satisfy the faint.”

Isaiah 41:10: “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you up, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

There are countless scriptures reminding us over and over of God’s love for us. God cares about YOUR feelings and will provide strength and refuge for all who look to him. Sometimes the smallest messages can serve as the greatest reminder for even seasoned Christians. Mother Goose Time’s Christian Experience are succinct but powerful lessons for the whole family!

MGT Blog Ambassador

One thought on “God cares about our feelings

Leave a Reply

