An odd side effect

The Mother Goose Time lessons this month consisted of several gluing activities. Admittedly in the past, I handled the gluing aspect of all art projects.  In fact, I was quite surprised by the number of other ambassadors who almost gleefully wrote about the puddles and puddles of glue their children used while trying to complete the lessons.  In an uncharacteristic move, I bravely handed my 2 and 3 year old a bottle of glue.

To my shock, my 2 year old gently squeezed moderately sized dots of glue and intently glued little shapes she had previously cut from scraps of paper.

IMG_0883

My son was a bit more generous with the glue. However, the experience was still rather uneventful.  I am unsure of the exact disaster I predicted but to my delight, nothing was ingested, no one stuck to a chair, and no fingers were permanently glued together.

FullSizeRender (2)

A few days later, my son woke up from a nap plain grumpy. I couldn’t find anything to distract him, which was very unusual. After fussing for more than 30 minutes, he finally asked to do a glue lesson. He never actually did a lesson but sat mesmerized as he simply squeezed glue into designs on construction paper. A half of bottle of glue later, his sunny disposition had returned and he was ready to resume our normal afternoon activities. Since this incident, he has asked for glue a couple of times when he seemed out of sorts and it has continued to have a calming effect on him.

IMG_0882

Although somewhat coincidental, I love that this discovery occurred during the Friends and Feelings theme.  We have discussed outlets for difficult emotions in the past but having this experience while being immersed in the subject of emotions, really hit home for him.

I have to give a big shout out to the other Mother Goose Time ambassadors whose wonderful stories encouraged me to experiment and ultimately allow my kids to be kids–messes and all! For anyone else needing encouragement or help on this often difficult road of homeschooling, I urge you to follow the Mother Goose Time Facebook page for great advise and support.

MGT Blog Ambassador

Leave a Reply

