Worship with Adoration and Prayer

The Christian Experience with Mother Goose Time’s December theme is ‘God asks me to praise and worship.’ It is such a basic Christian tenement, yet something I have never really discussed with my kids.
When discussing church and Bible study, I tend to emphasis the importance of knowledge–learning God’s word, Jesus’ character and message, etc. As an avid learner, this is where I thrive. I love knowledge. Proverbs 2:6 “For the Lord gives wisdom, and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.” Through studying, one can gain wisdom but wisdom is not the end goal. Just like faith without deeds is dead, knowledge alone is useless. Our very purpose of life is to worship the one true God in everything. 1 Corinthians 10:31 says “whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”
Reading the theme, makes me uncomfortably aware of how I fall short in worshipping God.
Mother Goose Time explains “worship means that we focus all of our thoughts and feelings on Jesus. We only think about Him, His greatness and His power.” This is so different than attending church on {most}Sundays, listening to Christian radio, participating in a few Bible studies here and there, and giving prayers of thanksgiving routinely throughout the day. This requires an intimate relationship with God.  A relationship that consumes your every thought–like a new love or your newborn child. A relationship that can be a struggle to maintain in such a fallen world.
Revelation 2:4 says “Yet, I hold this against you: You have forsaken the love you had at first. Therefore remember from where you have fallen, and repent and do the deeds you did at first; or else I am coming to you and will remove your lampstand out of its place– unless you repent.…”
I am forever grateful for a God that continues to invite me into an intimate father-daughter relationship. I am thankful for a God that allows for redemption and forgiveness. I am appreciative of a God that can use a lesson plan meant for a preschooler to convict and mold the heart of a grown woman.
My resolution for 2016 is to worship with adoration and prayer, not for my own benefit but because of his worthiness and righteousness.
“Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. praise the Lord!”  Psalm 150:6
MGT Blog Ambassador
Leave a Reply

