God Asks Me to Pray like a child

Our Mother Goose Time Experience God curriculum is centered around prayer for the month of April. “God asks me to pray.” The daily devotionals this month are by far my favorite from any other series. They truly break down the mechanics of prayer and easily adapt for homeschooling one or teaching an entire preschool group. The timing is impeccable as I recently started my own quest to improve my prayer life. Prayer is such a powerful tool but something I personally struggle with. Too often, I start to pray and thoughts, to do lists, or other noise interrupt my conversations with my Creator, my Father. The Bible, and Jesus himself, reiterate the importance of prayer.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances.” (Our MGT memory verse.)

Mark 14:38 “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing but the body is weak.”

Luke 18:1 ” Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up.”

Not only are mere mortals instructed to pray, Jesus, the very Son of God, modeled it often by retreating from the crowds to pray. He even gave us the perfect prayer for when our own words fall short: “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us our today daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.” Matthew 6:9-13.

My son has truly taken the message to heart this month. We (and I mainly mean my mom) recently constructed a climbing dome. Despite the manufacture’s guideline of ages 3-10, it has proven quite dangerous for the younger crowd! My poor son had fallen a dozen times before he said, “Mom, we need to stop and pray that I don’t fall any more.” He immediately dropped to his knees and waited for my prayer. I offered up a wordy prayer asking for guidance in placing his hands and feet for stability, strength to support himself, courage to continue to try, and protection to prevent injury.

My son looked at me and said, “Mom, that’s not what I asked you to pray. I don’t want to fall.” I gave a very human answer about how he has to keep practicing before he will master it. A few minutes later and my heart hurt. I realized I had just doubted God’s supreme power and I unintentionally sent that message to my son.

Matthew 21:22 “If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

Luke 19:16-17 But Jesus called the children to him and said, “Let the little  children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

My heart is so full watching the work God is doing in my children and through my children. I am thankful for these opportunities to see my own weaknesses and even more thankful for all the tools at my disposal that are facilitating growth. Yes, even a preschooler’s devotional–the Experience God with Mother Goose Time!!

MGT Blog Ambassador

 

Leave a Reply

